Skip to main content

The Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander Inclusive Community Award

Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander


Award Description:

The Dawn D. Bennett Alexander Inclusive Community Award is presented to a faculty member who has made a considerable contribution to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion within and beyond the classroom at the University of Georgia. The award will be presented at the Embracing Diversity event in the Fall of every year. The awardee will receive a $1,000 cash award. You can learn about Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander here.



The Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander award is open to all UGA faculty.  Nominations are currently closed for the 2021 award.


Nomination Process:

Each Dean, Director, or Vice President of a school, college, or unit may nominate up to two faculty members per year for the Dawn D. Bennett-Alexander Inclusive Community Award.


A complete nomination would include a dossier of the following items:

  1. Letter of Nomination from Dean, Director, or Vice President
  2. CV of Nominee
  3. 1-3 page narrative written by the nominee that outlines their contributions to diversity, equity, and inclusion within and beyond the classroom at UGA. This should also include examples of their commitment to DEI work while fulfilling the institution’s tripartite mission of teaching, research and service.
  4. Additional artifacts which can include relevant publications, presentations, syllabi showcasing innovative curriculum, and examples of institutional engagement.

Review Committee:

A committee composed of three faculty members, one staff member from the Office of Institutional Diversity, and one student will review all submissions materials. Only one person will be selected each year to receive the award.


Nominations for the 2021 award are closed.
The open date for 2022 nominations has not yet been determined.