Skip to main content

UGA Diversity News


2021 Embracing Diversity

Inaugural recipient of Inclusive Community Award
named during Embracing Diversity
October 29, 2021


HEED Award

UGA receives national diversity award
for eighth consecutive year
September 19, 2021

UGA Football players

New Digital Exhibit: 'Not Only for Ourselves:
The Integration of UGA Athletics' 
September 13, 2021


All Stories:

Three UGA faculty members elected to National Academy of Sciences

GAAME supports Black, African American males

UGA diversity committee focused on three priorities

Joni Taylor Named SEC Coach of the Year, Trio of Lady Bulldogs Honored

New research grant program fosters diversity, inclusion

Barkley Barton II Named Director of Undergraduate Admissions

UGA top institution for service to student veterans

Henry Louis Gates Jr. to give Holmes-Hunter Lecture

UGA’s J. Marshall Shepherd elected to the National Academy of Engineering 

New award created to recognize important work 

Watch the 2021 Martin Luther King Jr. Freedom Breakfast

Morrow named associate director of faculty and staff initiatives

UGA Celebrating 60 years of desegregation

Hamilton Holmes Jr. to give Freedom Breakfast keynote

Kudos: Delgado-Romero receives 2020 Elizabeth Hurlock Beckman Award

UGA Names Qiana N. Wilson Director of Equal Opportunity Office

Initiative Underway to Increase Diversity Among UGA STEM Faculty

Expanded Programs Help First-Generation Students

The Coca-Cola Foundation to Give $1 Million to First-Generation UGA Students

Disability Resource Center's Annual Recognition Reception Honors Faculty, Student Scholars

Making Science Accessible: Two UGA Students in prestigious  program

Once a Dawg, Always a Dawg! The Zeta Psi Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc

UGA Joins Group to Enhance Faculty Diversity in STEM

Diversity Advisory Council Holds Annual Retreat

Library Partners on Latino, Hispanic History Project

Avondale City Commissioner Included in Initiative Documenting Latinx Contributions to GA Politics

Certificates and Scholarships Awarded at Annual Embracing Diversity Event

UGA Expands Access to Study Abroad Opportunities for Minority Students

The INSIGHT into Diversity Higher Education Excellence in Diversity Award

UGA Funds Faculty Research to Study Role of Slavery in Institution's Early Development

Alton Standifer Named Assistant to the President

Mary Frances Early Lecture: New York Times Bestselling Author, Dr. Christopher Emdin

2019 Freedom Breakfast Speaker Calls for Continuation of Work on King's "Unfinished Business"

UGA to Present President's Medal to Mary Frances Early, Delmer Dunn

UGA Law School Creates Benham Scholars Program to Enhance Diversity in Legal Education, Profession

Namesake to Deliver Holmes-Hunter Lecture

Morehead: New Initiatives Will Build on "Great Momentum"

Education is the Key to Realizing King's Dream

Schwarzman Scholars

$1.16 Million Grant Funds Graduate School Pathway for First-Generation Students

Certificates, Scholarships Awarded at Annual Embracing Diversity Event

UGA Receives $1 Million NSF Grant to Extend STEM Minority Program

Elders Shares Vision for Future During Mary Frances Early Lecture

Charlayne Hunter-Gault Announces Giving Voice to the Voiceless Fund

Road Dawgs Spread the Benefits of a College Education

RED Lecture: Why Don’t We Have More Women in Senior Leadership Roles

Lisa K. Nolan Named Dean of UGA College of Veterinary Medicine

Vice President Wilson Receives 2017 Insight Into Diversity Magazine Giving Back Award

Ebenezer Baptist Pastor to Give Keynote at Freedom Breakfast

UGA Receives Three NSF Grants to Broaden Undergraduate, Graduate Participation in STEM

University of Georgia Receives National Diversity Award for Third Consecutive Year

UGA's Incoming Class Sets Records for Academic Qualifications, Diversity

UGA Leaves Lasting Impression on L.I.F.E. League Students

Diverse Dawgs: Minority Enrollment Rises at UGA

Veterinary Professor Corrie Brown Named University Professor at UGA

GAAME Testimonial from Mansur

Empowering and Motivating

Certificate Program Helps Foster Inclusive Campus Environment

Simon Kilmurry and Monica Pearson Appointed to Peabody Awards Board of Jurors

Nine Named to First Class of Women’s Leadership Fellows